Like You Do


Like You Do… The Best of the Lightning Seeds.
In the morning before going to high school I remember one summer waking up to Radio1 either playing Wake Up Boo by the Boo Radleys or Sugar Coated Iceberg by the Lightning Seeds. It was a good summer, I remember the sunlight like a tide coming through my yellow curtains in waves into my yellow making everything, surprisingly, yellow. It was great. All this set to the sound of :

“Summer’s gone, days spent with the grass and sun
I don’t mind, to pretend I do seems really dumb
I rise as the morning comes
Crawling through the blinds
I shouldn’t be up at this time
But I can’t sleep with you there by my side

Wake up it’s a beautiful morning
Feel the sun shining for your eyes
Wake up it’s so beautiful
For what could be the very last time”

Now I really want to hear that song again! Despite not owning any Boo Radleys, I do own Like You Do… The Best of the Lightning Seeds. I have been listening to it all morning:

What you Say: say what you say doo doo doo
The Life of Riley: pop-tastic : ” So here’s your life, We’ll find our way, We’re sailing blind, But it’s certain nothing’s certain”
Lucky You: ” You make it happen ooooooOOOOOOeeeeoooooooo”
You showed me: Class. It should be used in an advert. Perhaps it is.
Change: doo doo doo doo. Similar to Lucky you, doo doo doo doo
Waiting for Today to Happen: strumming doesn’t go with a high pitched voice
Pure: doo doo doo doo- doo doo doo doo-doo doo doo doo-
“just lying smiling in the dark, shooting stars around your heart, dreams come bouncing in your head, pure and simple everytime, now you’re crying in your sleep, i wish you’d never learnt to weep, don’t sell the dreams you should be keeping, pure and simple everytime”
Sugar Coated Iceberg:
exactly. I don’t care what songs you sing, Or how you think of all, Those pointless things”
Ready Or Not

All I want
Perfect: softly softly
What If…:
You’ve been away so long, too long, What’s wrong with us today, We’re running out of funny things to say“…” What if now, after all, What if everything you’ve got made you want more
Sense: “I’m standing high on tiptoes looking over fences, waiting for somebody like you to kiss me Senseless
Brain Drain
Marvellous: chilled then poppy.
There’ll always be something on your mind, You’ll never quite find, Won’t you ever make your mind up
Three Lions: English football anthem. Football came home but the trophy didn’t.

Leave a Reply

